A place for endometriosis survivors & supporters, and all that goes with it.

Everything I do, I do it for you

Leave a comment

I love you guys. Seriously.

I want to take a second to thank everyone who still checks here and apologize profusely for not making more time for this blog. With March (Endometriosis Awareness Month) just a day away, I’ll be back into the annual blog-every-day swing and hopefully that will keep me on track.

I’m also inspired to write here right now because of a long, personal and very touching email I received the other day from a dear reader named Kelly, who at age 21, has had a real fuck of a time dealing with shitbird doctors and the medical malice that is endometriosis, as so many of us do. Her email was extremely touching because she took the time to reach out to me, a basic stranger, and share her story. She also let me know that finding this site, and hearing our collective kvetching, made her feel less alone. And I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing the following snippet from her email:

“I kinda just needed to know someone else out there truly understands the fucked up reality that your body can be your own worst enemy. Thank you for some distorted version of renewed hope :) ”

I received her email when I checked Gmail on my new telephone, while I was at work. And I cried. And I wrote back some words of (I hope) support, information and encouragement. I haven’t heard back yet, but I hope I do.

I started this blog and the Facebook Endo Sucks! group a lot for me to connect to other people, to share and connect, though I assumed it would be mostly me shouting into the vastness of the digital landscape.

I was happily wrong.

I have found so many other people, in my town and far-flung across the globe, who share so many of these experiences practically verbatim. New people join the Endo Sucks! group every day. And with the Twitter feed, I’m getting to talk to even more people, organizations and even celebrities who are standing side by side in this maddening battle.

We exchange ideas. We support the bitching and the baby news. And most of all, we are all there for the primary purpose of helping each other. We are a diverse group who, with the twist of a chromosome, are united into one collection of daily warriors. And we grow every day.

It has served its initial, limited purpose of helping me know I’m not alone. It saves me every day. But it’s so much greater than that now. And from what you’re telling me, it saves you too.

I could ask for nothing better. So I promise to do right by you: to expand the reach of Endo Sucks! and to be more consistent here. Because you deserve it and I need it. We all need it.

Thank you for making this more than one thin voice in the dark.

Side note: Kelly tells me she found this blog by Googling “fuck you endometriosis”. I tried it myself and Endo Sucks! was the first non-paid link to appear on the results page. It makes me feel like a motherfuckin’ warrior. That is too awesome. Try it yourself; I did. The result:

I COULD NOT BE MORE PROUD

Author: endosucks

Endometriosis sucks. I'm here to help. on.fb.me/endosucks twitter.com/endosucks endosucks.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

